ARCHIVED


03/22/2016:
I watched the short film that Sung Kang participated in called "Code 8", and I think it's pretty f'n cool. I heard it'll be made into a feature-length film eventually. Hopefully, Sung Kang's character is going to be a major part of it. Otherwise...anyway. So folks, go and support! I certainly appreciate film and music projects that develop from Indiegogo or Kickstarter. Some are definitely worthwhile. Anyway, check it out:

Code 8 Short Film - Youtube

A prequel to "Tokyo Drift" would be a pretty cool idea, and it should be a stand-alone or separate from the series. It definitely would be feasible, and perhaps the only way to bring back the iconic character from the "Fast & Furious" series.

In a few days or whenever I have time, I'll watch the new "K-Town" flick through VOD and definitely write some thoughts on it. Congrats to the crew for their theatrical release.


02/12/2016:
Oh yeah, the K-Town film arrives March 18th in select theaters and on VOD on the 25th. Although I'd prefer to watch it in a theater, I'll probably have to watch it through VOD. Alright, for the umpteenth time: old faces, new places! hehe.

2016 Official K-Town Trailer


02/02/2016:
This is cool. There'll be a 10th anniversary screening for "Tokyo Drift" presented by BTILT film series from janm.org and other organizations. Has it been ten years already? It wasn't that long ago that the "Fast and The Furious" series took a detour in Tokyo introducing the world to the art of 'drifting'; but also lost a fan favorite character. Anyway, when a film has reached its 10th anniversary, you know that time has just passed by like nothing. I saw F7 awhile ago, but thought it was too outrageous and unrealistic. No plans on review.

Speaking of anniverseries and panel discussions, I happened to stumble upon the 30th anniversary panel discussion two years ago for the iconic 1984 film "The Karate Kid" courtesy of janm.org Youtube. It's as if I had completely forgotten how long ago this film was made. However, I don't think anyone can forget the indelible impression it left as far as phrases and references were concerned; a lot of which has been repeatedly imitated and has become part of the culture. Anyway, panel discussions are usually informative and revealing.

30th Anniversary Panel Discussion for The Karate Kid - JANMDOTORG



12/10/2015:
When it comes holiday films, everyone has their favorites to watch every December. Some of mine are "Home Alone" and "A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas" among others.

But with every Yuletide feel-good movies, there are duds that would even have the grinch guffawing in a 'smh' sort of way. And the "Holiday Dud Of The Season" belongs to the silly "Jingle All The Way" muhaha.

In essence, casting somebody such as Arnold in a comedy such as this where he has to wear a toy costume is laughable 'all the way'. Everyone knows Arnold as The Terminator, but as Turbo Man? muhahahahah. It's just as inane as watching 'Rambo' trying to sing country music, ..or just trying to sing at all.

It's hilarious watching Arnold trying to act comedically as an obsessed father competing with a hefty mail guy to get a rare Turbo Man doll for his son's Christmas present. All the foibles and slapstick humor are not as funny as his acting in this. I still get my jollies on at watching this whenever it's on.

If anything, I guess the lesson to be learned is to never forget to buy your kids their favorite toy early. That, and giving Arnold some advice to only stick with action movies muhaha.

Holiday Quote of the Day:   "...last year I got a sweater with a big bird knitted on it. *oh, that's nice*. Not if you're in the second grade, you can get beaten up for wearing something like that. I had a friend who got nailed because there was a rumor that he was wearing dinosaur pajamas" -Home Alone


12/12/2014:
I heard about the K-Town Cowboys film earlier in the year, but was curious if that would ever get finished. I've seen the web series on Youtube, and the film should be worth watching. Lo and behold, they have finished it and it'll be ready for next year. The teaser trailer:



For more info and updates, check out their site: http://www.ktowncowboys.com


Apparently, F7: Furious 7 is going to arrive next year in April. I'm not sure if I'll watch it if at all. If I do, this'll be it for me as far as the series goes for sure.




11/14/2015:
It seems that there is a theatrical release for the K-Town film that I've been anticipating for, and it'll be in Spring 2016. Here is the trailer below, as is in the multimedia section. Old Faces, New Places!

Spring 2016. K-Town Cowboys Trailer




10/22/2015: "Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials" (2015) **1/2
While I didn't think that this was as enjoyable as the first, it was still energetic and fun. A fun popcorn movie so to speak, which there hasn't been in awhile. But then again, I haven't been really watching any films recently since there is youtube and other platforms to watch other videos on. Anyway, "The Scorch Trials" is the second in what appears to be a trilogy.

In this one, the group escapes from certain nefarious plans. Although they are hunted down by the corporation, they meet with survivors who have escaped or survived other mazes with the realization of what was really going on. Ki Hong's character was captured at the end unfortunately, and not sure whether he'll survive that ordeal. Well, who knew that he could survive a nasty lightning strike earlier in the film. There does seem to be a few implausible scenarios and situations, but I doubt that it's something that is meant to think about when watching a movie like this.

This sets up the third and probably the final film in this series, and it seems as if the survivors are on a mission to take down the nefarious organization before any more harm is done.


7/30/2015: "The Maze Runner" (2014) ***

With the sequel arriving in a few months, I thought I'd review this after watching in its entirety awhile ago. The story is about a group of adolescents who have been living within the confines of a giant mechanical maze, controlled by a corporation unknown to them with hidden agendas. As the film progresses, the reasons become apparent as the audience is introduced to the character of Thomas; who appeared to hold the answers to the whole situation. In the end, the survivors that made it out of the maze are transported to another testing ground.

Overall, it was an energetic and fun film to watch. Of course, the story called for an adolescent cast perhaps most in their teens or 20's. Sort of like a futuristic Lord Of The Flies. But it was a breathe of fresh air from the everyday film scene however, with a youthful and diverse cast (I can imagine inexperienced too as they are very young in age). I have to give a nod to Ki Hong Lee who played one of the maze runners and experts (he seemed to be at ease without overacting). Not sure if his character is going to survive the sequel or one after that, but it's time to find out when "The Scorch Trials" opens.




06/05/2015: WF Productions Presents...
"Everything Before Us" is a new film from a Youtube channel called Wong Fu Productions, who are well-known for their skits and other collaborations. They've been around for awhile, but I only recently found them a year ago before subscribing. Of course, I don't watch everything but just material I find interesting. When I found out that the story for their film revolved around relationships and romance, I wasn't really interested as opposed to a thriller or drama as far as genre is concerned initally. Nonetheless, it's a film I would definitely watch in order to support the Asian-American scene for sure.

Right now, it is available on Vimeo but I don't have an account for that yet. Vimeo is a platform I'd consider uploading my video recordings anyway so might as well. Anyway, here are URL's:

Everything Before Us - Final Trailer

Everything Before Us on Vimeo

Aside from waiting to watch the K-Town film if it's available to rent or download at some point, I said that I'd consider watching F7 when it's available. And perhaps even an obscure feature called The Maze Runner; which was released quite awhile ago but never heard about. I'll probably review them.


03/28/2015: Year Of Sequels...
I plan to watch the K-Town flick when it's hopefully on Amazon or Netflix, perhaps even J-Chon's new flick "Man Up" when they are available or released. In the meantime, I'm sure there are others of interest but right now it's still a search.

But this years seems to be the year of sequels and potential blockbusters, and perhaps some of them are worth going to the theater again (which I haven't in years and years). "Jurassic World"- who would have thought that the Jurassic Park series would have another sequel. This time, the story revolves around a completed park where humans and dinosaurs seemingly coexist. Of course, expect things to go awry as usual. "Terminator: Genisys"- I first thought, you got to be kidding me. After the lackluster effort of the previous sequel, I had no interest in watching another installment. But the plot of an alternate timeline could be of interest to some. And how old is Ah-nold now? heh. Another Mission: Impossible? It's ok, I didn't really follow the series to begin with.

Other movies I've watched recently: How To Train Your Dragon 2, and the final Hobbit. No plans on reviewing them.


08/14/2014:
The world of comedy as well as the film industry lost Robin Williams, a recognizable figure who has made audiences laugh either on screen or on the stage. If he wasn't remotely likeable even just one bit, either in character or in persona, I wouldn't be mentioning this here or anywhere. But I have enjoyed watching him in his older films, in particular when it comes to the dramatic roles; whether it's a teacher ("carpe diem"), a therapist or a photo lab employee. He had a knack for impersonation and improvisation, which made his comedic prowess well known. Other than that, I don't know much else about Robin. As far as his suicide is concerned, I have absolutely no idea what he's been going through. But it shouldn't have come to that.

It's been awhile since I last updated this web page, not sure if I'll do a review this year since there hasn't been anything worth watching yet. I did rent "The Motel" on Amazon a month or so ago, but I don't plan on a review since that film was made years ago. Other than that, I'll just have to continue to wait until there is something to review.


12/17/13: F6: Fast And Furious 6 ***
There's a new kind of tornado in town, as F6 takes the action up a notch with more intensity and fury going global. The FF crew agree to help take down a team of international criminals across borders. All the while, going after a former member who has now been working in cahoots with the villains. It certainly would take some serious car action as well as balls to take down both a tank and what seems to be a cargo plane at the end. And now, let's get back to reality.

With the untimely passing of one of the Fast & The Furious originals, I've heard good things about Paul Walker from all the outpouring. Ok well, maybe not his films earlier in his career but at least in terms of charitable work and such. Although I had planned to watch F6 before this happened, I guess it made it even more special to do so now. With that said, here's a nice tribute that's out there for all the "Fast & The Furious" fans out there:

10/27/13: The Conjuring ***
Interestingly enough, this actually was based on a case study by the Warrens; paranormal investigators back in the '70s who also investigated the infamous "Amityville Horror" and before that, the Raggedy Ann doll which was said to be possessed. In between, there was a case not really known to the public at all. I sure didn't know about them, or the fact that they investigated "The Amityville Horror". But after watching the movie, doing a bit of research on the Warrens shed light on some these things. As a fan of paranormal occurrences and real hauntings, this was something interesting.

Based on 'true' events, the Perron family moves into an estate in a rural community and become fodder for increasingly intense paranormal occurrences ultimately ending up in a possession. Apparently, they moved into a land where there were multiple suicides and deaths; including somebody who supposedly practiced witchcraft way back when and is the source for the possession. As far as how much of this is true, you'd have to do a bit of research and watch/read any documentaries or articles on the Perron hauntings yourself. All I know is that the film did ratch it up a notch with stuff that probably didn't happen, and intensified certain elements. What's interesting is that although the Lutzes fled the Amityville Horror house after only a few weeks, the Perrons continued to stay at their estate for awhile. Perhaps Amityville needed a good exorcism at that time muhaha.

Overall, it was intriguing to say the least. I probably would have made the house look more like the actual house, although what's so scary about a one-floor haunted location? These days, all you need is an attic and a basement/cellar with creaky stairs, and it'll be ripe for the paranormal muhaha. Nevertheless, it was well-done in terms of a stylized pace that's sure to bring intrigue and scares to the faint-hearted.
This season might be the time for maniacs and jack-o'-lanterns, but it seems that it's also that time to be a "Jackass" again muhaha. I guess this could be another "What The......"

Anyway, "Jackass Presents.....Bad Grandpa"





This is a re-post from a few years ago, but it's that time of year again for horror movies!...

10/23/13: Halloween III: Season Of The Witch **1/2
What would Halloween be without the 'Halloween' flicks? (At least Halloween 1-3). Anyway, it's this third odd-ball film sub-titled, "Season Of The Witch", that's an interesting one to review. The original idea was to have a different kind of Halloween film that didn't involve the maniacal killer Michael Myers.

The main villain in this film is deliciously diabolical and evil, although I guess you can say that he redeems himself by playing a good guy in 'The Last Starfighter' muhaha. The idea of a silly, mystical power in the stonehendge, stealing one, and utilizing that to cause the deaths of children wearing Silver Shamrock Halloween masks is quite out of the ordinary. I have to admit that there are some creepy elements; the commercials using bobbing heads and masks, a familiar but idiotic music in the commercials, and a strobing flash of light over a digitized pumpkin on the tube which activates the pin on those masks. The result? The kid's head begins to rot as all kinds of bugs and creepy crawlies mutate into form. What a way to die. Cochran's robotic assistants in the factory were also creepy as heck, very Myers-esque so to speak.

Halloween III wasn't well received, but it was a unique entry to say the least. I for one could at least appreciate that.
09/23/13: "Linsanity" ****
I can now cement this as part of my "Top 10" muhaha. It's a 4-Star (4 out of 4) documentary that chronicles the Jeremy Lin story from when he was a kid to the height of what is now known as "Linsanity". We all know the exceptional talent and the bona fide NBA player that is Jeremy Lin, but what a lot don't know are the obstacles that Jeremy had to endure and overcome to get to where he is. You just have to watch it for yourself. It's a well-documented and a well-produced film that is both inspiring and nostalgic, so much so that I plan to purchase this digitally.

Jeremy Lin's faith and devotion to God has allowed him to thrive in the face of adversity and negative opposition. They are inconsequential and insignificant when it comes to the grand scheme of things. I'm sure Jeremy doesn't want nor expect sympathy of what he went through because of his race. And neither should any of us who has faced such predicaments in the past. Don't let obstacles get in the way of your plans or ambitions. And that's one lesson we should all learn.
09/08/13: The School Of Rock Simply....Rocks
A comedic and musical charmer of a film, and the one and only. I must have completely forgotten about this; or it was just tucked away somewhere. There was a cast reunion recently, which was a held a month or two ago. It's astounding how fast we all age and get fat or whatnot muhaha. I suppose that's particularly true with the Star Trek reunions. But nevertheless, it's the story about an unemployed rock'n roller who tricks his way into a substitute teaching job, and consequently turning the kids into a rock band.

As they say, you could probably turn a classicist into a rock'n roller, but not vice versa. Or at least it's that much more difficult to do so. The bottom line is that classical music involves much more theory and technical demands than any other genre. In particular when it comes to composition or composing a well-constructed piece, that takes some ingenuity and creativity. But anyway, I guess this film is still a testament that kids can still rock out...with their guitar or keyboard out! muhaha.

Who knows if a sequel is in the works, or is just in the starting or preliminary processes.
09/04/13: "Sunset Stories" **1/2
Sung Kang. He co-starred in "Better Luck Tomorrow", became part of the "Fast & The Furious" crew, and even co-starred with Mr. Rambo himself. That's a pretty decent resume right there, but I think "Sunset Stories" takes it up a notch.

Although I'm ambivalent or not too enamored with the plot point about a chance encounter between two exes, I did find losing a medical cooler to be comical. But what I did get out of it, and certainly a message that transcends any plot point; that things happen for a reason. Perhaps things happened as they were supposed to and as a result, they just weren't meant to be. The concept might seem simplistic and hackneyed or overused, but it is certainly a concept that's not readily accepted. But in this wacky universe or reality of ours, anything is indeed possible. Including the fact that some things are just the way they are because they are.

My central credo however, is that we are masters of our own fates and destinies. But some things are indeed beyond our control. Did this film have a happy ending? Sure it did, and it seemed that it worked out well for both parties in terms of going in different paths from where they were, with different destinies. Perhaps certain revelations could not have been realized without having to meet again.


08/03/13: "Rock Jocks" **
Or, the jocks that actually rock muhaha. You take a bunch of slackers and put them in charge of planet security against asteroid collisions, this is what you get. All except perhaps K-Jumba, who seems to usually play the role of the nerdy pussy; which I think is why it'll be a breathe of fresh air when we see him with a mullet in the new feature. This had laughs and chuckles, and re-defines vulgarity as the new cool muhaha. Vulgar humor is not for everyone, but if you can stomache it and tolerate the low budget graphics and set design, then grab a beer and some pizza, slouch and prepare for some asteroid-busting hilarities muhaha.





06/15/13: "Surrogate Valentine / Daylight Savings" ***
The conclusion of "Daylight Savings" has "unfinished business" written all over it, and whether there will be a third film to complete this trilogy remains in question. I'm certainly crossing my fingers on it. Goh Nakamura has taken his talents from the music scene to the film scene, and the results are two films that tell a fictionalized but unique story with his music as the backdrop. Goh doesn't need to pretend that he's an experienced actor. He just needs to be himself, and the down-to-earth quality is usually what characterizes the independent scene somewhat.

Goh certainly has a knack not only with an acoustic guitar, but writing lyrics as well. I haven't heard any lyrics that are more poetic or moving, other than a few of D-Choi's own songs. I suppose there are some truths to what he said to the effect of, "there are more things to write about when you aren't in a lasting or happy relationship, so what's the point of being in one as a guitarist/songwriter....I guess I'm better off not to". I personally wouldn't know, since classical piano is a whole different genre which usually doesn't really apply to that. But it's an interesting observation, because there is a cynical albeit a humorous sense of irony to it. Anyway, all I could say about the conclusion of "Daylight Savings". Will this be the beginning of a new relationship, and will his character go back to performing on tour again anytime soon? It's only a matter of time whether or not they decide to just leave it at that and go in a different direction, or to satisfy fans with a more concrete, unambiguous finale.


06/09/13: "Hang Loose" ***
First of all, good work to the film crew and cast. I laughed my fuckin' ass off, which means it worked. Why else would there be a scene where they had their characters get their balls lighted by fireworks? The running word of the day for that film.....balls muhaha. I bet one can count how often "balls" is mentioned as opposed to other words like say....fuck muhaha. KevJumba is just one of quite a few internet celebrities out there. Transitioning from the net to film must not be easy, and he said it himself that he was nervous. But although he's a natural when it comes to videos, I guess filming is a different story altogether. Oh man, I thought I recognized Ru-f-ee-o. However you spell that and no, it's not Rufus muhaha.

It's the story of a quiet, nervous guy who after a breakup, goes to Hawaii where his best pal is getting hitched. They get into misadventures while evading Justin Chon and his two Hawaiian bodyguards who don't know what 'extortion' means. The moral of the story? I guess don't let your balls be anywhere near fireworks muhaha.


06/03/13: "Beerfest" **1/2
No, this wasn't one of the films that I bought. But holy 'shnitzel', 'farfenugen' or whatever muhahaha, it's time to get drunk and laugh yer fuckin' ass off muhaha. I think this was released back in '06. Back in the day, I couldn't hold alcohol for crap. But now I could chug a mug like nuthin', and my brothers could attest to that. For some, I guess they'd be better off chugging some jugs as well muhaha. Speaking of raunchy funnies, the first 'Harold & Kumar' was the top of them all. And that I did buy.

One of the funniest scenes involved that "Phat Girlz" lady, beating the crap out of the fat dude that drowned in beer as he unsuccessfully attempted to drink his way out of it. Get yer "Das Boot" on, and get ready for a laugh riot on the couch!




05/17/13: "ParaNorman" ***
Until I get to see "Fast 6" either through digital download or the theater, there really isn't anything else. At least I'll go ahead and parlay my thoughts for two recent films that I've seen for now. Because the fact of the matter is, there just hasn't been any decent films in recent years, with the quality going downhill year after year.

I'll start off with "ParaNorman", a stop-motion animation feature that I believe is similar to "Coraline", or from the same animators. I enjoyed the artistry and the story of that film, so I thought this would be worth watching. It is the story of a young kid who could see and talk to ghosts, which makes him a victim for bullies. With the aid of a few, he has to end a witch's curse that has plagued the town for years. The film was fun enough, and the stop-motion animation made it worthwhile. However, the film was much too short and the story could've used a few more plot twists other than revealing that the zombies were actually victims of a witches curse. Other than, pretty fun muhaha.

The Rum Diary**1/2
Not that I condone substance abuse, but "Fear & Loathing" was a film that was both unusual and unique in presentation; as well as funny in a way. But then again, Hunter S. Thompson could've been a unique individual with what they used to call, Gonzo Journalism. Anyway, "The Rum Diary" was another adaptation based on a story that I read at a bookstore. I vaguely remember what it was about, other than that the protagonist takes a job working for a newspaper in Puerto Rico, and gets in all kinds of alcohol/substance abuse trouble while there. I'm not sure how well it stayed true to the story, but it was decent. However, didn't enjoy it as nearly as much as the other. Perhaps there just wasn't that much to work with in terms of story.



05/03/13: "Fast & Furious 6" On 5/24, Get Yer Speed On!



10/29/12: "Monster House" ***
This was released back in '06, but it's certainly ripe for review when it comes to Halloween flicks. Last year it was the oddball "Halloween III", this year it's "Monster House".

"Monster House" revolves around a neighborhood house that looks like the typical old, creeky house that looks haunted. Except it's more than that. The proprietor is an old codger who doesn't take trespassers well as well as any toys or belongings. Apparently, the house itself is a living entity possessed by the soul of the old man's deceased fat spouse muhaha. There's a flashback where we get to see how they met and when the house was built, and in turn the fat chicks' apparent rage at heckling neighborhood kids. There's this whole shebazz about how the fat chick and the house merged, but in the end that anger manifested itself in one creepy and angry "Monster House". And nah, the house wasn't fat muhaha. In the end, the old man and three neightborhood kids decide to destroy the house once in for awhile before reeking further havoc.

The bottom line is this. The house was convincingly created through computer animation to look and feel terrifying, and the story was well-paced to be on the edge of your seat. I'd say the house seemed to be like a combination of the "Amityville Horror" and "1408", where the Amityville house looked horrifying and the room in "1408" was actually alive with evil or possessed. I guess who knew that a CGI-created film could be as effectively creepy, but "Monster House" works in that respect. If there's a movie for Halloween to be seen that hasn't been seen, this is recommended for sure.


3/26/12- Harold And Kumar 3 ***
The latest Harold & Kumar adventure finds the duo several years grown apart, as both Harold & Kumar have new friends and new lives. Harold has drifted away from the weed lifestyle and settled down with his lovely wife with a new home. Meanwhile, the same old Kumar continues his weed ways, getting kicked from medical school and alienating his GF. The story takes place during the holidays obviously, when a mysterious package addressed to Harold (which turns out to be a joint as a gift from Santa) is mistakenly sent to Kumar but then is brought to Harold's home. Apparently, santa smokes weed too muhaha.

The film clocks in at a meager 1:25 minutes, which is pretty quick. That's really my only gripe, but I guess they didn't want to overkill the movie with redundant gags or explicit/gratuitous material. Still, it wouldn't be a Harold & Kumar flick without that raunchy humor and all. I thought the claymation sequence was pretty hilarious, and the Waffle-Bot was interesting; in the sense that I'll probably find myself eating waffles as did the first Harold & Kumar got me eating White Castle burgers muhaha. The NPH scenes could've been more raunchy other than that heaven sequence, but there's always an opportunity for the next sequel if there is one. One of the sub-plotlines has Harold dealing with his in-laws, especially the father-in-law who looked familiar. But in the end, it was all about standing up for yourself when it came to confrontations. Similar themes that ran prevalent to the first. A nice throwback when they eat a meal at White Castle. Yep, it always hits the spot muhaha. I suppose it depends on how many sliders you eat muhaha.

Overall, I found myself laughing throughout for the most part. I don't think they pushed things too far since it's atypical humor that's supposed to be raunchy; in particular with that creepy kid. That's what makes the series unique though. Will there be a fourth? Or another trilogy? Perhaps something to do with visiting the in-laws, as was hinted at the end. The possibilities and the creativity could be endless, but there has to be a more satisfactory ending to the series than a quickie like this.


1/29/12- Fast Five ***
I finally got a chance to see this while on a flight back home, downloading an on-line rental to the ipod. It was fun for the most part. One of those worthwhile popcorn flicks that actually lives up to the hype. I was never really much of a fan of the 'The Fast & The Furious' series, but I was compelled to watch this last one; which I heard re-united the main players from the previous sequels. When it comes to adrenaline-filled action flicks, this is up there. The series is known for its fast, hi-octane cars with super-charged engines, and I'm sure car enthusiasts would get a kick out of these films if not for the action or racing sequences.

Vin Diesel and Paul Walker team up to pull one last job, basically to steal drug money from some powerful drug lord down in Brazil. To pull off this heist, they'd need to complement themselves with a full team of cohorts. And cars. Fast cars. I haven't seen the other sequels in their entirety, although I've seen bits of #1 and #2. The 'Fast Five' plan out, and then take out an impenetrable vault using their vehicles and evading security/police. On the hunt is the new character played by 'The Rock'. Of course, I'm sure we've all anticipated 'The Rock' eventually confronting and fist-fighting Vin Diesel, who is pretty big himself.

For Sung Kang fans, he returns as well but with not much dialogue to boost unfortunately. He does have a minor smooch scene at the end when the team disbands with their cars, money and chicks muhaha. Will there be a sixth? Could be, as a small teaser after the credits hints at another character from the series pulling off something in another country. Perhaps those scenes were deleted in the original version, but nevertheless, Fast & The Furious fans better brace themselves.


10/31/11- Halloween III: Season Of The Witch **1/2
What would Halloween be without the 'Halloween' flicks? Nothing can really beat or compare with John Carpenter's 'Halloween' in '78, which started the genre of slasher films more or less. That film proved that minimalism works, and sometimes less is more. The tension and the scares are there, and it proves that you don't need blood and gore at all to be effective. Anyway, it's this third odd-ball film sub-titled, "Season Of The Witch" that strikes my fancy, and an interesting one to review. The original idea was to have a different kind of Halloween film that didn't involve the maniacal killer Michael Myers. And this third one was it, and unfortunately the only one before going back to Myers.

The main villain in this film is deliciously diabolical and evil, although I guess you can say that he redeems himself by playing a good guy in 'The Last Starfighter' muhaha. The idea of a silly, mystical power in the stonehendge, stealing one, and utilizing that to cause the deaths of children wearing Silver Shamrock Halloween masks is quite out of the ordinary. I have to admit that there are some creepy elements; the commercials using bobbing heads and masks, a familiar but idiotic music in the commercials, and a strobing flash of light over a digitized pumpkin on the tube which activates the pin on those masks. The result? The kid's head begins to rot as all kinds of bugs and creepy crawlies mutate into form. What a way to die. Cochran's robotic assistants in the factory were also creepy as heck, very Myers-esque so to speak.

Halloween III wasn't well received, but it was a unique entry to say the least. I for one could at least appreciate that.